Bone soup

My friend Heather stopped by tonight for some hang out and cocktail time. (She and her husband have been her for us from the beginning for social gatherings, watching Macho while I was in the hospital, and some lasagna for post-baby dinner). Nothing better than that, right?  We had just finished up dinner and we all were talking about how awesome our soup was tonight. Ok, so chicken soup isn’t something we usually rave over and I’ve even made my own broth before, but this time….damn! That’s some good soup. 

Backstory: Yesterday, I made “rotisserie” chicken in the crockpot. It was good, but the chicken was a touch dry. This recipe needs a little tweaking for my crockpot. http://www.lifemadefull.com/2013/10/09/make-perfect-rotisserie-chicken-crock-pot/ I used white potatoes, carrots, and onions not sweet potatoes like the recipe.





I immediately threw the leftovers back in the crockpot and set it to low for 12 hours  plus another 10 or so from this morning (that’s the max I could do, the recipe calls for 24.)  http://paleospirit.com/2011/how-to-make-homemade-chicken-stock-in-five-minutes/ When I told Heather about this, she said - We call that bone soup!

During the process, I woke up in the middle of the night smelling chicken soup! In the morning, I reset the timer and it was smelling great. This evening, I strained everything to clean out the skin and bones. I tasted the stock and wow! It was actually so rich that I added a little more water. I added some veggies (carrots, potatoes, onion, mushrooms, and green beans from last night’s leftovers) and some brown rice and the soup was awesome!!







This chicken was around $4 because I bought it in a double pack. The veggies were left from the dinner last night… 3 potatoes, 4 carrots, 1 onion, 1 can of green beans, and 1 small can of mushrooms. However, the stock from this recipe totally kicked everything up 10 levels.

Overall, for two good meals, we spent less than $10 for everything. And, we still have leftover soup for lunch tomorrow. Yay!

One thought on “Bone soup

  1. Wow. Sounds delicious. I have a thing about bones and meat and really knowing that my meat used to be an animal. I can’t do it. I even buy my hamburgers pre-pattied because I can’t touch that bloody red meat. So I’ll just have to enjoy bone soup vicariously through you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment