Cleaning out the pantry!

We set a move date. We haven’t sold the house, and Papi hasn’t gotten a job offer that makes any sense to take. The job market where we are is pretty small for such a specific area of law and we have just decided that we need to leave a situation that has become toxic to our family. While most of my food “plan” leans toward clean eating, we are eating too much, drinking too much, and moving too little. It’s time to be with family in a place where we can move forward with our life goals.

With that being said, my grocery list last week was built around what was in the pantry and freezer. My grocery bill was actually under $100! As with all weeks, it’s altered slightly as we go. 

Here was the plan:



Our schedule was immediately thrown off on Sunday. After I got home from the grocery store, we got a call asking if the house could be shown at 4:30. My food prep and crockpot rotisserie chicken flew out the door and we planned for an early pizza dinner out. There isn’t a whole lot to do on Sunday afternoons in a small town in the Bible Belt.

So, I shifted slightly and did the chicken on Monday.



Made the soup from leftovers on Tuesday:



And then, I decided to jump to the enchiladas on Wednesday. I didn’t follow a particular recipe for this meal. I plopped two frozen chicken breasts in the crockpot and sprinkled them with cumin, chili powder, garlic salt, and oregano. After 2 hours on high, I shredded the chicken, sprinkled it with each of the seasonings again, and let it cool in the crockpot.







This week, I did not make my own tortillas. I really was just at the end of my physical and emotional rope. So, store bought tortillas it was. Sorry clean eating. 





I had both homemade red enchilada sauce and green tomatillo sauce in the freezer, so I decided to make “Christmas” enchiladas. I really tried to choose a favorite, but they are both really good.





I served the extra sauce, sour cream, cilantro, and salsa. None of us used the salsa though!



Pretty!



We ate this for leftovers again the next night.

Friday was meatless for Lenten Friday. 

For lunch, I made tuna salad…with a twist. I mixed it with cilantro, salsa, and a little sour cream. Then I roasted some bored out tomatoes, stuffed them, and then melted some cheese on top. 





Originally, I planned to make shrimp stir fry for dinner. But, then I took another look at the plan and the pantry. I decided to mess around with some ingredients and make the lasaga roll ups planned earlier. Usually, I make the roll ups with whole wheat pasta, but we had a box of regular pasta left from when my mom came and made lasagna. So, I sautéed mushrooms and garlic, added some sundried tomatoes, chopped up the small shrimp and added some white wine and Parmesan and truffle salsa. I mixed the filling with skim ricotta, and a little Mozarella. Then, I topped it with a marinara sauce and some shredded cheese.

Papi was a little unsure….

And then he killed 2 1/2 rolls. I had 1 1/2 and Macho had 1 roll along with a serving of green beans. That means we have leftovers! And, we have another batch of 8 rolls in the freezer for next Friday.



Tomorrow, I need to do some shopping. Both Papi and I mentioned how empty our fridge was today. So, I need to revisit our stock (lentils, ww pasta, pinto beans, a couple chicken breasts). Next week, we count down to two weeks until the move!

Leave a comment